top of page
  • Writer's pictureDWWW 774 Admin 05

MUSIC & MEMORIES: JOSE MARI CHAN INTERVIEW HIGHLIGHTS

Updated: Sep 3, 2020

September 1, 2020





When asked how is he coping with the COVID-19 pandemic: I always tell my friends that whenever something bad happens, it’s meant to be because then we return to our faith, we return to God. In a way, it is good, because we are back to the basics.

We are used to handshake, we are used to kiss, pat on the back, pat on the shoulder, and that’s what we missed.

On songwriting: It’s God’s blessing. I feel blessed that i’m being associated and my songs are being associated with Christmas, the most joyful season in the Philippines.

Trivia: The song ‘Christmas in Our Hearts’ is already 30 years old. The melody is catchy, easy to sing, easy to hum but most importantly, the message ng kanta is the right message of Christmas. It’s not about Santa Clause, it is about the birth of Jesus Christ.

As a singer: My voice is just regular. It’s not a powerful voice. It’s not a strong voice. It’s just ordinary. But it’s good enough for my songs, it’s good enough for the message that my songs carry.

Tips para maging meaningful pa rin ang Pasko despite COVID-19 pandemic:

Keep in close touch with your children, with your brothers and sisters, your parents, your lolos and lolas. Keep in touch with them even sa telephone. And get acquainted with their advice to you. And also keep in close touch with our Creator and be hopeful.

Noong mga bata pa tayo, hope is like a wish. I hope Santa will give me a nice toy… i hope it will not rain tomorrow so that we can have a nice excursion…but now, our hope is deeply rooted in our belief in God.

The love songs, most of them we’re inspired with my wife.

Para bang Christmas is a place. I’m going to back to family. I’m going back to Christmas where love resides forevermore.

When you pick up a picture of Christmas, what do you see? Mama Mary, St. Joseph and baby Jesus… so it is a family.

Trust in the Lord. Be prayerful and all this shall pass. And to those of you who have been blessed with sufficiency, it is this golden opportunity for you to share your blessings. There are many of our countrymen who are out of work, many of our countrymen are hungry. It is our golden opportunity to share our blessings. But the most important is trust in God.

124 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page